Back into rag rug production

Now I’ve got the quilt done and some of the (seemingly endless) pile of mending out of the way, I’m getting back into trying to finish off the pair of rag rugs I’ve been working on for a year.
image

I’m using a traditional (i.e. completely hand stitched) plaited rug design, which means that progress is very slow. Progress is also slow because of fabric supply, as I want to use genuine rags as opposed to fabric brought specially. Therefore, a major breakthrough was finally acknowledging that two unfinished projects stuffed into dark corners were total failures and not even worth picking apart for the pieces of fabric, therefore giving me some fresh sources in colours I needed to keep the pattern going.

As is to be expected with a craft that involves interesting textures and moving small pieces of fabric, this is a Cat Favourite activity.
image

Leave a Reply

